Skip To Main Content



The State of Florida has adopted the WIDA English Language Development Standards for ELL students. These standards represent the social, instructional and academic language that students need to engage with peers, educators, and the curriculum in schools.


Standard 1 recognizes the importance of social language in student interaction with peers and teachers in school and the language students encounter across instructional settings. Standards 2-5 address the language of the content-driven classroom and of textbooks, which typically is characterized by a more formal register and a specific way of communicating (e.g., academic vocabulary, specific syntactic structures, and characteristic organizational patterns and conventions) (


The English Language Development Standards:

Standard 1:    Social and Instructional Language
Standard 2:    The language of Language Arts
Standard 3:    The language of Mathematics
Standard 4:    The language of Science
Standard 5:    The language of Social Studies